93rd Academy Award Winners Announced! (UPDATED)

Featured Video

It’s Time! Once again, Award season is upon us! Although the global pandemic has caused a lack in film through the year. We were still graced with some incredible films through 2020 and we are excited to see what 2021 will bring us. Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix) and Promising Young Woman (VOD) received five nominations. Judas and the Black Massiah (HBO Max), Sound of Metal (Amazon Prime), Nomadland (Hulu), Minari (VOD), The Father (VOD) and The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Netflix) are all given six nominations. While Mank (Netflix) runs away with a total of ten nominations. The 93rd Academy Awards will air on April 25th, live on ABC. Here are the nominations:


Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Glenn Close – Hillbilly Eledy
  • Olivia Colman – The Father
  • Amanda Seyfriend – Mank
  • Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari (Winner)



Costume Design

  • Alexandra Byrne = Emma
  • Ann Roth – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Winner)
  • Trish Summerville – Mank
  • Bina Diageler – Mulan
  • Massimo Cantini Parrini – Pinocchio


Original Score

  • Terence Blanchard – Da 5 Bloods
  • Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Mank
  • Emile Mosseri – Minari
  • James Newton Howard – News of the World
  • Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Soul (Winner)

Adapted Screenplay

  • Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern; Story by Baron Cohen, Hines, Swimer and Nina Pedrad – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Christopher Hampton & Florian Zeller – The Father (Winner)
  • Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
  • Kemp Powers – One Night in Miami
  • Ramin Bahrani – The White Tiger


Original Screenplay

  • Screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King; Story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Keith Lucas and Kenny Lucas – Judas and the Black Massiah
  • Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
  • Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman (Winner)
  • Screenplay by Darius Marder and Abraham Marder; Story by Darius Marder and Derek Cianfrance – Sound of Metal
  • Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7



Animated Short Film

  • Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat – Burrow
  • Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise – Genius Loci
  • Will McCormack and Michael Govier – If Anything Happens I Love You (Winner)
  • Erick Oh – Opera
  • Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson – Yes People


Live Action Short Film

  • Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski – Feeling Through
  • Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan – The Letter Room
  • Farah Nabulsi – The Present
  • Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe – Two Distant Strangers (Winner)
  • Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman – White Eye


Actor in Supporting Role

  • Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
  • Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Massiah (Winner)
  • Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami…
  • Paul Raci – Sound of Metal
  • Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Massiah



Documentary Feature

  • Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana – Collective
  • Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder – Crip Camp
  • Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez – The Mole Agent
  • Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster – My Octopus Teacher (Winner)
  • Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn – Time


Documentary Short Subject

  • Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard – Colette (Winner)
  • Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers – A Concerto is a Conversation
  • Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook – Do Not Split
  • Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Shueuerman – Hunger Ward
  • Sophia Nahali Allison and Janice Duncan – A Love Song for Latasha


International Feature Film

  • Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round (Danish) (Winner)
  • Derek Tsang – Better Days (Hong Kong)
  • Alexander Nanau – Collective (Romania)
  • Kaouther Ben Hania – The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
  • Jasmila Žbanić – Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)




  • Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman – Greyhound
  • Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin – Mank
  • Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett – News of the World
  • Ren Klyce, Coya Elliot and David Parker – Soul
  • Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortes and Philip Bladh – Sound of Metal (Winner)


Production Design

  • Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone – The Father
  • Mark Ricker, Karen O’Hara and Diana Sroughton – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Winner)
  • Donald Graham Burtand Jan Pascale – Mank
  • David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan – News of the World
  • Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas – Tenet


Film Editing

  • Yorgos Lamprinos – The Father
  • Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
  • Frédéric Thoraval – Promising Young Woman
  • Mikkel E.G. Nielsen – Sound of Metal (Winner)
  • Alan Baumgarten – The Trial of the Chicago 7




  • Sean Bobbitt – Judas and the Black Massiah
  • Erik Messerschmidt – Mank (Winner)
  • Dariusz Wolski – News of the World
  • Joshua James Richards – Nomadland
  • Phedon Papamichael – The Trial of the Chicago 7


Visual Effects

  • Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camailleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox – Love and Monsters Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawren, Max Solomon and David Watkins – The Midnight Sky
  • Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steven Ingram – Mulan
  • Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez – The One and Only Ivan
  • Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher – Tenet (Winner)


Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Marese Langan, Laura Allen, and Claudia Stolze – Emma
  • Eryn Krueger Mekash, Patricia Dehaney, Matthew Mungle – Hillbilly Elegy
  • Matiki Anoff, Mia Neal, Larry M. Cherry – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Winner)
  • Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams – Mank
  • Dalia Colli, Mark Coulier, Francesco Pegoretti – Pinocchio



Animated Feature Film

  • Onward
  • Over the Moon
  • A Sean the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
  • Wolfwalkers
  • Soul (Winner)


Original Song

  • H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas – “Fight for You” from Judas and the Black Massiah (Winner)
  • Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite – “Hear My Voice” from The Trial of the Chicago 7
  • Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson – “Husavik” from Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga
  • Diane Warren and Laura Pausini – “Io Si (Seen)” from The Life Ahead
  • Leslie Odom Jr. and Sam Ashworth – “Speak Now” from One Night in Miami…


Actor in Leading Role

  • Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
  • Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Anthony Hopkins – The Father (Winner)
  • Gary Oldman – Mank
  • Steven Yuen – Minari



Actress in Leading Role

  • Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Andra Day – The United States vs. Billie Holiday
  • Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman
  • Frances McDormand – Nomadland (Winner)
  • Carey Milligan – Promising Young Woman



  • Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
  • Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
  • David Fincher – Mank
  • Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round
  • Chloé Zhao – Nomadland (Winner)


Best Picture

  • The Father
  • Judas and the Black Massiah
  • Mank
  • Minari
  • Nomadland (Winner)
  • Promising Young Woman
  • Sound of Metal
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7

The 93rd Academy Awards have officially come and gone. Despite the ongoing pandemic, this years Oscars acts as a stepping stone back normality. Regardless of the shift in film scheduling, we still managed to crown a few incredible films that were released in 2020. Mank went in with ten Nominations but only taking home two. While Nomadland took home half of its nominations with a triple crown by winning Best Actress, Best Director and Best Picture.


Written by David Moya

Articles Published: 242

A lot of appreciation for Marvel. Big love for DC Comics!