in , ,

‘Birds of Prey’ and ‘The Suicide Squad’ Will Be R-Rated

Hoping to follow in the footsteps of Joker, Deadpool and Logan, Warner Bros has confirmed that two of their upcoming movies, Birds of Prey and The Suicide Squad will be R-rated.

Also read: ‘Joker’ Hits The $1 Billion Milestone

Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) follows titular anti-hero Harley both after the events of Suicide Squad and, more importantly, after she breaks up with the Joker and finds a new group of allies including the Black Canary and the Huntress.

The Suicide Squad meanwhile is set to be a standalone sequel/soft reboot to Ayer’s original work but this time, it is being helmed by James Gunn. While no plot details have been confirmed at this time, the movie’s ensemble cast has been announced with the promise of the eponymous team of antiheroes living up to their name with many deaths throughout the movie.

Joker is to date the only R-rated movie to earn $1billion at the box office beating out Warner Bros/DC’s competitor Marvel who attempted this impressive feet with Deadpool at Fox only for both movies to reach just under $800million.

While fans have been assured that Birds of Prey won’t go down the dark and gritty route with their R-rating like Joker did, and rather have a humorous girl gang adventure not made for kids, there has been no word on which route The Suicide Squad will take.

Birds of Prey stars Margot Robbie as the returning Harley Quinn, while Mary Elizabeth Winstead has been cast as Huntress, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, will portray Black Canary, Rosie Perez will portray Maggie Sawyer, Chris Messina will portray secondary antagonist Victor Zsasz, Ella Jay Bassco will portray Cassandra Cain and Ewan McGregor will portray the movie’s villain Black Mask.

Birds of Prey is set for release on February 7, 2020 while The Suicide Squad is scheduled for release on August 6, 2021.

Written by Jai Howlett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.