Everything We Know About DC Future State

Featured Video

Originally teased in September 2020 during DC Fandome, DC Future State will be the next upcoming event in the DC Universe following the conclusion of Dark Nights: Death Metal. Beginning in January 2021 and through February will feature twice-monthly oversize anthologies, monthly schedule of miniseries and one-shots. New characters will be introduced and featured as some of our favorite iconic heroes including Batman, Superman and the rest of the Justice League. In March 2021 will be the return of normal publishing lineup with continuing existing storylines from 2020 and will also introduce new story arcs.


DC Executive Editor Marie Javins has stated “The DC Universe has always been fertile ground for new and refreshing takes on our characters, and DC Future State definitely contributes to this legacy when the event begins in January, some savvy readers will not only pick up on some of the breadcrumbs that have already been tossed out in our current titles, but they will also find new hints and clues of what’s to come in 2021.”


New stories will be crafted by creative teams from TV, movies and animation including Academy Award winner John Ridley, Young Justice writer Brandon Vietti, Supernatural writer Meghan Fitzmartin and Stargirl writer Paula Sevenbergen. Other writers will include Mariko Tamaki, Brian Michael Bendis, Gene Luen Yang, Joëlle Jones, Joshua Williamson, Nicola Scott, Cully Hamner, John Timms, Brandon Easton, Alitha Martinez, L.L. McKinney and Siya Oum. Stories announced so far with the lineup include a Brazilian Wonder Woman, a John Stewart focused tale, expansion of the Bat-Family, major changes to the Superman Family and the introduction of Red X featured in the Teen Titans animated series.



Superman Oversized Comics will include:

  • Future State: Superman of Metropolis #1-2, by Sean Lewis and John Timms
  • The Guardian, by Sean Lewis and Cully Hamner
  • Mister Miracle, by Brandon Easton and Valentine De Landro
  • Future State: Superman: Worlds of War #1-4, by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Mikel Janin
  • Midnighter, by Becky Cloonan, Michael W. Conrad and Gleb Melnikov
  • Black Racer, by Jeremy Adams and Siya Oum
  • Mister Miracle, by Brandon Easton and Valentine De Landro
  • Future State: Immortal Wonder Woman #1-2, by Becky Cloonan, Michael W. Conrad and Jen Bartel
  • Nubia, by L.L. McKinney, Alitha E. Martinez and Mark Morales


Superman Monthly Series and One Shots will include:

  • Future State: House of El, by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Scott Godlewski (one-shot on sale February)
  • Future State: Kara Zor-El, Superwoman, by Marguerite Bennett and Marguerite Sauvage
  • Future State: Legion of Super-Heroes, by Brian Michael Bendis and Riley Rossmo
  • Future State: Superman/Wonder Woman, by Dan Watters and Leila del Duca
  • Future State: Superman vs. Imperious Lex, by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (3-issue series ending March 2021)
  • Future State: Wonder Woman, by Joëlle Jones


Batman Oversized Comics will include:

  • Future State: The Next Batman #1-4, by John Ridley, Nick Derington and Laura Braga
  • Outsiders, by Brandon Thomas and Sumit Kumar
  • Arkham Knights, by Paul Jenkins and Jack Herbert
  • Batgirls, by Vita Ayala and Aneke
  • Gotham City Sirens, by Paula Sevenbergen and Emanuela Lupacchino
  • Future State: Dark Detective #1-4, by Mariko Tamaki and Dan Mora
  • Grifters, by Matthew Rosenberg and Carmine di Giandomenico
  • Red Hood, by Joshua Williamson and Giannis Milonogiannis



Batman Monthly Mini-Series will include:

  • Future State: Batman/Superman, by Gene Luen Yang and Ben Oliver
  • Future State: Catwoman, by Ram V and Otto Schmidt
  • Future State: Harley Quinn, by Stephanie Phillips and Simone Di Meo
  • Future State: Nightwing, by Andrew Constant and Nicola Scott
  • Future State: Robin Eternal, by Meghan Fitzmartin and Eddy Barrows


Other DC Characters will also feature their over Oversized Comics including:

  • Justice League, by Joshua Williamson and Robson Rocha
  • Justice League Dark, by Ram V and Marcio Takara
  • Green Lantern: Last Lanterns, by Geoffrey Thorne and Tom Raney
  • Green Lantern: Tales of the Green Lantern Corps, by Josie Campbell, Ryan Cady and Ernie Altbacker, with Sami Basri and Clayton Henry
  • Suicide Squad, by Robbie Thompson and Javi Fernandez
  • Suicide Squad: Black Adam, by Jeremy Adams and Fernando Pasarin


Other DC Characters with Monthly Mini-Series will include:

  • Future State: Aquaman, by Brandon Thomas and Daniel Sampere
  • Future State: The Flash, by Brandon Vietti and Dale Eaglesham
  • Future State: Teen Titans, by Tim Sheridan and Rafa Sandoval
  • Future State: SHAZAM!, by Tim Sheridan and Eduardo Pansica
  • Future State: Swamp Thing, by Ram V and Mike Perkins



DC Future State begins in January 2021.

Source: DC Comics


Written by David Moya

Articles Published: 242

A lot of appreciation for Marvel. Big love for DC Comics!