in , , ,
- Advertisment -

‘Falcon & Winter Soldier’ Release Date & Details Revealed

'Falcon & Winter Soldier' Release Date & Details Revealed

The next stage in both Bucky Barnes and Sam Wilson’s respective stories finally has a release date! Disney has announced that Falcon and Winter Soldier will be coming to their Disney+ the streaming service in August 2020.

According to Deadline, the upcoming Marvel series will have a six episode season, which will be directed by Kari Skogland. As well as Anthony Mackie and Sebastian Stan returning to reprise their respective titular roles, the series is also reportedly set to see the returns of Baron Zemo and Sharon Carter, portrayed by Daniel Bruhl and Emily Van Camp respectively.

The series will follow the lives of Sam Wilson and Bucky Barnes as they deal with the events of Avengers: Endgame, which saw their former partner Steve Rogers aka Captain America retire from his superhero life and pass on the mantle, and his shield, to Falcon. The duo has been a fan-favorite pairing since they met in Captain America: Civil War. However, both heroes were “dusted” after Thanos’ decimation at the end of Avengers: Infinity War, before being brought back by the Hulk towards the end of Avengers: Endgame.

Falcon first debuted in the Marvel Cinematic Universe during Phase 2 in 2014’s Captain America: The Winter Soldier where he teamed up with Captain America and Black Widow to help bring down HYDRA. Barnes meanwhile debuted in Captain America: The First Avenger in 2011, first appearing as the best friend of Steve Rogers before supposedly perishing towards the end of the movie. However, in the aforementioned sequel, he was revealed to have survived and been brainwashed by HYDRA as a deadly assassin.

Falcon and Winter Soldier is set to be the first in a series of Marvel streaming shows that will reportedly tie-in to the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Phase 4. Other Disney+ Marvel shows include WandaVision, Loki, and Hawkeye, as well as an animated Marvel’s What If…? anthology series all of which are yet to have confirmed release dates announced.

While the movies have established these two characters as both hero and villain turned hero respectively, this new 6-part series should give us the development fans of the characters want to see for the two as they step out of Captain America’s shadow.

Also read: ‘Avengers: Endgame’ Passes $2.6 Billion At Box Office

Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, Avengers: Endgame stars Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Don Cheadle, Tom Holland, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, Frank Grillo, Letitia Wright, Dave Bautista, Zoe Saldana, Josh Brolin, Chris Pratt, Jeremy Renner, Evangeline Lilly, Jon Favreau, Paul Rudd, and Brie Larson. Check out the synopsis below:

“After the devastating events of Avengers: Infinity War, the universe is in ruins. With the help of remaining allies, the Avengers assemble once more in order to undo Thanos’ actions and restore order to the universe.”

Avengers: Infinity War is now on Digital and Blu-ray, while Avengers: Endgame is now in theaters.

Are you looking forward to Falcon and Winter Soldier? Let us know in the comments section below!

Written by Jai Howlett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *